See our collections!

See our collections!

Let us guide you!

Let us guide you!

General Terms of purchase of exploitation rights

General principles

Inserm offers internet users visiting the site www.serimedis.inserm.fr the possibility to purchase, on a non exclusive basis, the rights to exploit scientific images and videograms (originals) present on the www.serimedis.inserm.fr site and identified as being subject to such purchase. These images and videograms are hereafter designated as “Images”.

The present General Terms (hereafter designated “General Terms”) apply to all cessions of exploitation rights granted by Inserm for the images displayed on the www.serimedis.inserm.fr site.

The General Terms are supplemented by Specific Conditions (hereafter designated “Specific Conditions”), which detail the Specific Conditions that apply for the purchase of exploitation rights. As stipulated in the French Code of Intellectual Property, the Specific Conditions are defined by mutual agreement between Inserm and the corporate body or natural person (hereafter designated “beneficiary”) who wish to purchase exploitation rights on images. The selected images, defined as the images selected by the beneficiary among the images, are listed in the Specific Conditions.

Language

The General Terms and Specific Conditions are presented in the French language, including in the case of purchase of exploitation rights by a foreign user, as stipulated by Law n°94-665 of 4 August 1994.

Selection

The beneficiary selects the images from the Serimedis image bank managed by Inserm. Inserm assists the beneficiary in the choice of scientific images by answering the beneficiary's questions and validating his/her/its choice.

Cession limitations

Cession is granted by Inserm within the limits detailed under General Terms and Specific Conditions, solely for the beneficiary, who renounces the right to hand over to a third party, whether free of charge or for a fee, the exploitation rights that he/she/it holds for the selected images.

Inserm reserves the right to refuse the cession of exploitation rights to a third party if the use of the ceded exploitation rights is likely to damage Inserm's image, jeopardize its interests, be contrary to its publishing policy or aim to develop or fuel a polemic on Inserm research subjects in spite of the fact that this research complies with current laws and regulations.

The beneficiary renounces making any use of the ceded rights that is contrary to current laws and regulations whether in France, Europe or the rest of the world. The beneficiary shall maintain Inserm clear of any litigation resulting from the use of the exploitation rights so ceded. Consequently, Inserm will refuse any cession of exploitation rights if the beneficiary uses the exploitation rights ceded in such a way as to potentially undermine French, European or international laws and regulations.

In case of litigation with a beneficiary, in particular concerning payment and failure to respect intellectual property, stipulations relative to confidentiality, the present General Terms or Specific Conditions, Inserm reserves the right to refuse any new cession of exploitation rights to this beneficiary with the latter having no right to claim for any compensation whatsoever, for whatever reason.

The present General Terms do not apply to cessions subject to specific regulations provided for by the French Code of Intellectual Property and publishing contracts in particular. For such uses, the person designated in paragraph “contact and notification” must be contacted.

Cession of adaptation rights for selected images is limited to reframing, only for the purpose of page layout.

Modalities of cession of exploitation rights

The cession of exploitation rights takes effect as from the time of acceptance of the General Terms and Specific Conditions, and effective payment by the beneficiary to Inserm's accounting officer.

Acceptance of the General Terms and Specific Conditions will be subject to confirmation when proceeding to the cession of exploitation rights. The said cession is subject to the beneficiary's acceptance, without reservation, of the General Terms and Specific Conditions.

The data recorded by Inserm on the www.serimedis.inserm.fr site as well as electronic mail communication and exchange of paper documents constitute proof of all the transactions carried out by Inserm with the user or beneficiary.

Modalities of transfer of the selected images

The modalities of transfer of the selected images are specified in the Specific Conditions. They can in particular be transferred by downloading from the www.serimedis.inserm.fr site.

Required information

The beneficiary guarantees that each of the used selected images will be accompanied by:

  • The name of their author,
  • Inserm's name or logo.

Payment and terms of payment

The cost of cession of exploitation rights associated with the images is given in Euros excluding taxes. All orders, whatever their source, are to be paid in Euros. Inserm reserves the right to modify its prices at any time but the images will be invoiced at the price listed at the time the order was registered by Inserm.

Payment of the cession fee will be made by bank transfer to Inserm's account, opened in the name of the Accounting Officer. The beneficiary is the sole person responsible for proper completion of the bank transfer. Any charges resulting from the payment and bank transfer, including currency exchange fees, are the beneficiary's responsibility. The payment will be deemed effective as of the time it is entered by Inserm's accounting officer.

Inserm's bank details will be provided to the beneficiary when setting the Specific Conditions for the order. These bank details constitute confidential information; the beneficiary renounces making any use whatsoever of such details for purposes other than that strictly necessary for the payment resulting from the purchase of rights on the images.

The fee to be paid by the beneficiary will be specified in the Specific Conditions.

Availability

The images are available and the prices valid as long as they are visible on the site.

Contact and notification

For further information or questions, please e-mail the contacts shown on the website.

Any notification related to the cession of exploitation rights for images must be addressed in writing by registered mail with receipt acknowledgement to:

Inserm
Pôle audiovisuel
Département de l'Information Scientifique et de la Communication
101, rue de Tolbiac
75654 Paris CEDEX 13
France

Guaranties

Inserm declares being the holder of the rights of representation and exploitation for the images and the selected images. Inserm will guarantee enjoyment of the ceded rights by the beneficiary against any disturbance, eviction or claim. Inserm declares in particular that the images and selected images contain no reproductions of photographs or illustrations likely to engage the responsibility of the beneficiary with respect to a third party.

Confidential information

Inserm guarantees that all the information collected that might allow identification of www.serimedis.inserm.fr site users and beneficiaries making purchases is considered confidential information.

Protection of private life

Inserm respects the private life of users and beneficiaries and strictly complies with the current laws and regulations on the protection of private life and individual liberties as stated in the General Terms of use of the site.

Unless the beneficiary requests otherwise, Inserm reserves the right to be able to use the beneficiary's personal data in order to inform him/her/it by mail about the new services available on the www.serimedis.inserm.fr site. Such information is destined for the beneficiary and should not be divulged to a third party. The beneficiary will be held responsible for any unauthorized use, of which he/she/it might be the source, of this information considered confidential. The beneficiary can refuse to continue receiving this information at any time by sending an e-mail to the address provided in the site.

Totality of the agreement

The General Terms and Specific Conditions constitute the agreement for the cession of exploitation rights and represent the totality of the agreement between Inserm and the beneficiary with respect to the cession of exploitation rights for the selected images.

Modifications

Inserm reserves the right to modify without prior notice the present General Terms. Such modifications do not affect the cessions of rights granted prior to the modifications.

In order to be valid and opposable, any modification of the Specific Conditions must be agreed to by Inserm and the beneficiary and be the object of an amendment to the present agreement.

The General Terms and Specific Conditions represent the totality of the volition of Inserm and the beneficiary. Should difficulties arise regarding the interpretation of the Specific Conditions with respect to the General Terms, the stipulations in the General Terms will prevail over those in the Specific Conditions.

Applicable legislation

The General Terms and Specific Conditions, all actions and operations by virtue of the present conditions as well as the rights and obligations of the parties with respect to the present conditions will be governed and interpreted in compliance with French legislation. The French jurisdiction is competent to know the present General Terms and Specific Conditions.

Termination

In case of total or partial non compliance, or defective compliance by one of the two parties to one of its obligations, the present agreement can by full right be terminated by the other party. Termination can only intervene sixty days after sending formal notice addressed by registered mail with receipt acknowledgement or by bailiff action on the faulty party, unless the faulty party has, during that time, honored its obligations or brought proof of an impediment consecutive to a case of force majeure.

In case of termination, the beneficiary shall relinquish all use of the images and selected images, as of the effective date of termination.

Litigation

In case of litigation relative to the interpretation or execution of the present General Terms and Specific Conditions between Inserm and the beneficiary, Inserm and the beneficiary agree to find an amicable solution to such litigation. Should an amicable solution not be found within 60 days from the time of notification of the disagreement, the litigation will be brought before the relevant Paris tribunal.

Autonomy of the contract clauses

Should one clause, whichever it is, of the General Terms or Specific Conditions be known to be inapplicable by virtue of the current legislation, Inserm and the beneficiary agree to renegotiate in good faith such General Terms or Specific Conditions in order to preserve the general economy of their relationship. Failing the reaching of an agreement within 30 days as of the date of notification of this inapplicability, the present agreement comprising General Terms and Specific Conditions will be terminated as of right.

Force majeure

Inserm will not be responsible for any failure or delay in meeting its obligations as stipulated in the General Terms and Specific Conditions, if such failure or delay results from causes independent of its volition, including without limitation cases of force majeure, acts of civilian or military authorities, fires, floods, earthquakes, riots, wars, acts of sabotage, network failures, electronic file coding errors, software limitations, incapacity to obtain telecommunication services or governmental measures, as long however as both parties concerned take all reasonable measures to attenuate the effects resulting from the said situations.

Consultez nos collections !

Consultez nos collections !

Laissez-vous guider !

Laissez-vous guider !

Conditions générales d'acquisition de droits d'exploitation

Principes généraux

L'Inserm offre aux Internautes visitant le site www.serimedis.inserm.fr la possibilité d'acquérir, de façon non exclusive, les droits d'exploitation sur les images et vidéogrammes originaux, à caractère scientifique, présents sur le site www.serimedis.inserm.fr et identifiés comme pouvant faire l'objet d'une telle acquisition. Ces images et vidéogrammes sont, ci-après, désignées par « Images ».

Les présentes Conditions Générales (ci-après désignées par « Conditions générales ») s'appliquent à l'ensemble des cessions de droits d'exploitation consenties par l'Inserm sur les images dans le cadre du www.serimedis.inserm.fr

Les conditions générales sont complétées par les conditions particulières (ci-après désignées par « conditions particulières ») qui précisent les conditions spécifiques d'acquisition des droits d'exploitation. Les conditions particulières sont définies, dans le respect des dispositions du Code français de la Propriété Intellectuelle, de grés à grés entre l'Inserm et la personne morale ou la personne physique (ci-après identifiée par « bénéficiaire ») qui souhaite se porter acquéreur de droits d'exploitation associés aux images. Les images sélectionnées, définies comme les images sélectionnées par le bénéficiaire parmi les images, sont listées dans les conditions particulières.

Langue

Les conditions générales et les conditions particulières sont présentées en langue française y compris en cas d'acquisition des droits d'exploitation par un utilisateur étranger, conformément aux dispositions de la loi n°94-665 du 4 août 1994.

Sélections

Le bénéficiaire sélectionne, à partir de la banque d'images Serimedis gérée par l'Inserm, les images. L'Inserm assiste le bénéficiaire dans le choix des images scientifiques en répondant aux questions du bénéficiaire et en validant ses choix.

Limitation de cession

La cession est accordée par l'Inserm, dans les limites précisées dans les conditions générales et conditions particulières, au seul bénéficiaire qui s'interdit de céder, à titre gratuit ou payant, les droits d'exploitation qu'il détient sur les images sélectionnées à un tiers.

L'Inserm se réserve la possibilité de refuser la cession des droits d'exploitation à un tiers, si l'usage des droits d'exploitation cédés est susceptible de porter atteinte à l'image de l'Inserm, à ses intérêts, est contraire à sa politique en matière de publication ou vise à développer ou entretenir une polémique sur des sujets de recherche de l'Inserm alors que ces recherches sont conformes aux lois et règlements en vigueur.

Le bénéficiaire s'interdit de faire un quelconque usage des droits cédés pour un usage contraire aux lois et règlements en vigueur tant en France, qu'en Europe ou dans le monde. Le bénéficiaire maintiendra l'Inserm hors de cause de tout litige résultant de l'usage des droits d'exploitation ainsi cédés. En conséquence, l'Inserm refuse toute cession des droits d'exploitation, si l'usage par le bénéficiaire des droits d'exploitation cédés est susceptible de porter atteinte aux droits et règlements français, européens ou internationaux.

En cas de litige avec un bénéficiaire portant notamment sur le paiement, le non-respect de la propriété intellectuelle, des dispositions relatives à la confidentialité, des présentes conditions générales ou des conditions particulières, l'Inserm se réserve le droit de refuser toute nouvelle cession de droits d'exploitation de ce bénéficiaire sans que celui-ci puisse réclamer une quelconque indemnité à quelque titre que ce soit.

Les présentes conditions générales ne s'appliquent pas aux cessions faisant l'objet d'une réglementation spécifique prévue par le Code français de la Propriété Intellectuelle et notamment aux contrats d'édition. Pour ces utilisations, veuillez contacter la personne désignée au paragraphe « contact et notification ».

La cession du droit d'adaptation sur les images sélectionnées est limitée aux seuls recadrages nécessaires à la mise en page.

Modalités de cession des droits d'exploitation

La cession des droits d'exploitation intervient à compter de l'acceptation des conditions générales, des conditions particulières et du paiement effectif du prix par le bénéficiaire auprès de l'Agent Comptable de l'Inserm.

L'acceptation des conditions générales et conditions particulières fera l'objet d'une confirmation au moment de la procédure de cession des droits d'exploitation. Ladite cession est soumise à l'acceptation, sans réserve, des conditions générales et conditions particulières de la part de du bénéficiaire

Les données enregistrées par l'Inserm sur le site www.inserm.fr ainsi que les échanges de courriers électroniques ou de documents papiers constituent la preuve de l'ensemble des transactions passées par l'Inserm avec l'utilisateur ou le bénéficiaire.

Modalités de transfert des images sectionnées

Les modalités de transfert des images sélectionnées sont précisées dans les conditions particulières. Elles peuvent être notamment transférées par téléchargement depuis le site www.serimedis.inserm.fr

Mentions obligatoires

Le bénéficiaire s'engage à accompagner chacune des images sélectionnées utilisés :

  • du nom de l'auteur,
  • du nom ou du logo de l'Inserm.

Paiement et conditions de paiement

Le coût de la cession des droits d'exploitations associés aux images est indiqué en Euros, hors taxe. Toutes les commandes, quelle que soit leur origine, sont payables en Euros. L'Inserm se réserve le droit de modifier ses prix à tout moment toutefois les Images sont facturées au tarif en vigueur au moment de l'enregistrement de la commande par l'Inserm.

Le règlement du prix de la cession s'effectue par virement bancaire sur le compte Inserm ouvert au nom de l'Agent Comptable. Le bénéficiaire est le seul responsable de la bonne exécution du virement bancaire. Les éventuels frais résultant du paiement et du virement bancaire, y compris les frais de change, sont à la charge du bénéficiaire. Le paiement est réputé effectué à compter de son enregistrement par l'Agent comptable de l'Inserm.

Les coordonnées bancaires de l'Inserm sont communiquées au bénéficiaire lors de l'établissement des conditions particulières pour chaque commande. Ces coordonnées constituent des informations confidentielles ; le bénéficiaire s'interdit d'en faire un quelconque usage autre que celui strictement nécessaire au paiement résultant de l'acquisition des droits sur les images.

Le prix à payer par le bénéficiaire est précisé dans les conditions particulières.

Disponibilité

Les images sont disponibles et le prix est valable tant qu'ils sont visibles sur le site.

Contact et notification

Pour toute information ou question, vous pouvez adresser un courriel aux contacts indiqués sur le site.

Toute notification en relation avec la cession de droits d'exploitation sur les images doit être adressée par écrit, par courrier en recommandé avec accusé de réception à :

Inserm
Pôle audiovisuel
Département de l'Information Scientifique et de la Communication
SERIMEDIS
101, rue de Tolbiac
75654 Paris CEDEX 13
France

Garanties

L'Inserm déclare détenir les droits de représentation et d'exploitation relatifs aux images et aux images sélectionnées. L'Inserm garantit au bénéficiaire la jouissance des droits cédés contre tout trouble, éviction ou revendication. L'Inserm déclare notamment que les images et les images sélectionnées ne contiennent aucune reproduction de photographies ou illustrations susceptibles d'engager la responsabilité du bénéficiaire vis-à-vis de tiers.

Informations confidentielles

L'Inserm s'engage à ce que toutes les informations qu'il recueille, concernant l'utilisation par l'Utilisateur du site www.serimedis.inserm.fr et les achats effectués par le bénéficiaire permettant d'identifier ce dernier, soient considérées comme des informations confidentielles.

Protection de la vie privée

L'Inserm respecte la vie privée des Utilisateurs et des bénéficiaires et se conforme strictement aux lois en vigueur sur la protection de la vie privée et des libertés individuelles comme mentionné dans les Conditions générales d'utilisation du site.

Sauf opposition du bénéficiaire, l'Inserm se réserve la possibilité d'utiliser les données personnelles du bénéficiaire, afin de l'informer, par courrier électronique, de l'évolution des services du site www.serimedis.inserm.fr Ces informations destinées au bénéficiaire ne doivent pas être divulguées à un tiers. Le bénéficiaire sera tenu responsable pour toute utilisation sans autorisation, dont il serait à l'origine, de ces informations considérées comme confidentielles. Le bénéficiaire peut renoncer à recevoir ces informations, à tout moment, en adressant un courrier électronique dont l'adresse figure sur le site.

Intégralité de l'accord

Les conditions générales et les conditions particulières constituent la convention de cession de droit d'exploitation et représentent l'intégralité de l'accord passé entre l'Inserm et le bénéficiaire relatif à la cession de droits d'exploitation associés aux images sélectionnées.

Modifications

L'Inserm se réserve le droit de modifier, sans préavis, les présentes conditions générales. Ces modifications n'affectent pas les cessions de droits consenties antérieurement.

Toute modification des conditions particulières devra, pour être valable et opposable, recevoir l'agrément de l'Inserm et du bénéficiaire et faire l'objet d'un avenant à la présente convention.

Les conditions générales et les conditions particulières représentent l'intégralité de la volonté de l'Inserm et du bénéficiaire. En cas de difficultés d'interprétation des conditions particulières au regard des conditions générales, les stipulations des conditions générales priment sur celles des conditions particulières.

Droit applicable

Les conditions générales et les conditions particulières, tous les actes et opérations en vertu des présentes ainsi que les droits et obligations des parties aux présentes seront régis et interprétés conformément au droit français. Les juridictions françaises sont compétentes pour connaître les présentes conditions générales et conditions particulières.

Résiliation

En cas d'inexécution totale ou partielle ou de mauvaise exécution par l'une des parties de l'une de ses obligations, la présente convention pourra, de plein droit, être résiliée par l'autre partie. La résiliation ne pourra intervenir que soixante jours qu'après l'envoi d'une mise en demeure adressée par courrier en recommandé avec accusé de réception ou par acte d'huissier à la partie défaillante, à moins que, dans ce délai, la partie défaillante n'ait satisfait à ses obligations ou n'ait apporté la preuve d'un empêchement consécutif à un cas de force majeure.

En cas de résiliation, le bénéficiaire devra cesser, à la date effective de la résiliation, toute utilisation des images et des images sélectionnées.

Litige

Pour toute contestation qui s'élèverait entre l'Inserm et le bénéficiaire, relativement à l'interprétation ou à l'exécution des présentes conditions générales et des conditions particulières, l'Inserm et le bénéficiaire s'engagent à trouver une solution amiable à cette contestation. A défaut de solution amiable, dans un délai dans un délai de 60 jours à compter de la notification de cette contestation, la contestation sera portée devant le tribunal compétent de Paris.

Autonomie des clauses du contrat.

Dans l'éventualité où l'une quelconque disposition des conditions générales ou des conditions particulières serait réputée inapplicable en vertu du droit en vigueur, l'Inserm et le bénéficiaire s'engagent à renégocier de bonne foi ces conditions générales ou conditions particulières afin de préserver l'économie générale de leur relation. A défaut d'accord dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la notification de cette inapplicabilité, la présente convention constituée des conditions générales et des conditions particulières sera résiliée de plein droit.

Force majeure

L'Inserm n'est pas responsable en cas de défaillance ou de retard dans l'exécution de ses obligations au titre des conditions générales et des conditions particulières, résultant de causes indépendantes de leur volonté, à l'inclusion et sans limitation aucune de cas de force majeure, actes des autorités civiles ou militaires, incendies, inondations, séismes, émeutes, guerres, actes de sabotage, défaillances de réseaux, erreurs de codage de fichiers électroniques, limites de logiciels ou incapacité d'obtenir des services de télécommunication ou mesures gouvernementales, pour autant, toutefois, que les parties concernées prennent toutes dispositions raisonnables afin d'atténuer les effets résultant desdites situations.